Q: Do I need to be a member of AARP to enter the Innovation Champion Awards (ICA)? 

A: No, the awards are open to all. There is no requirement to be an AARP member to participate.


Q: What is the cost to enter the competition? 

A: It is free to enter the ICA.


Q: Is there any age restrictions for competition entry?
A: The competition is open to anyone 18+.


Q: Do I have to be based in the U.S. to enter?
A: No, the competition is open to international entrants. But English-language applications are mandatory.


Q: What are the prizes?
A: The Grand Prize winner will receive $10,000, as well as an all expenses paid trip to Washington D.C. to meet with AARP executives. Finalists in each category will receive a plaque, consulting with AARP Innovation Champions and product promotion.


Q: What are the competition criteria?
A: Submissions will be evaluated against six criteria: universal (ageless) design, differentiation, consumer benefits, technology, business model and safety considerations.


Q: Who are the judges?
A: Our esteemed panel includes AARP Magazine Executive Editor Bill Horne, Living in Digital Times Founder Robin Raskin, TMC Group Editor in Chief Rich Tehrani, and Moore Designs President Patricia Moore.


Q: When will finalists and winners be announced?

A: Submissions close date has been extended to midnight EDT on May 5, 2017. Public voting begins in mid-May. Winners and finalists are announced in mid-June.


Q: There are other Innovation award programs out there. How is this one different?
A: The Innovation Champion Awards are specifically designed to recognize universal design – design that appeals and offers usability to all age groups.


Q: Can offerings in any industry be submitted?
A: For the inaugural ICA, the focus is on the caregiving space. This includes health, diet, nutrition, care planning, records and benefit management, digital and social life enrichment, long-term care and more. See our Caregiving Categories for more details.